LGBT 30-Day Challenge: Day 30

The end.

Final question: Anything LGBT you’d like to do to end this on.

I just finished reading the article about Voter IDs and how that may affect transgender voters (click here for the article)

Here’s what I want to end on.  From everything I’ve read and heard about the history of the LGBT-rights movement, it’s been a very shattered movement.  For a long time, lesbians fought for a place in the movement.  Then came bisexuals. And now, transgendered people (and other gender identities) are looking for their place within the GLBT community.  Although the acronym can only go so long, I want to remind everyone out there that we need to watch out for each other.

I can’t remember when first stumbled upon this quote, but it has stuck with me forever: “If not me, then who? If not now, then when?”

I am standing up and putting myself in the GLBT community (as an ally) because if not me, then who?  And if not now, then when?  But in order for us to keep down the path of equality, we need to stick together.  There is splintering still within the LGBT community: militant lesbians who disapprove of self-identified f*gs, bears who don’t like trannies…and we aren’t even all fighting for the same thing.  Some want marriage equality, some want liberty…it’s all very complicated.  Remember that we are all in this together.  I am here to support everyone, of all cultures, sexual orientations, gender identities, and other forms of diversity I can’t think of now.  But whatever it is, we can all relate, especially within the LGBT community.  So, remember to reach out to younger kids in pain and older members who remember what it was like during, say, the HIV/AIDS era.  Remember that though we all have diverse opinions on what should happen, we are all looking for some basic things, like legitimacy of our feelings.

This challenge has been fun, it’s given me a chance to think about things I haven’t thought about before and given me a slightly new perspective. I hope you guys enjoyed reading the things I’ve said, and I hope it has been thought-provoking for you too.

I still want to hear from you, let me know what you think. COMMENTS!
XO ~J

About Jenah
Dedicated to keeping you informed about everything LGBTQIA

Leave a comment