The Alphabet Soup

A few weeks ago, I wrote a post about the “I” in LGBTQIAP.  So this time, I’m going to write about the P, which stands for pansexuality.  

No, pansexuality is not a sexual attraction to pans.  Let’s get that cleared up.

Pansexuality is similar to bisexuality, but different.  Bisexuality is a male or female who is attracted to both males and females.  Pansexuality, however, is a person who is attracted to people regardless of their sex.  A pansexual person may be attracted to someone who is genderqueer, for example, or a transgender person.  A better definition may be this: a pansexual person is someone who is attracted to people on an individual basis.

I happen to think that all people are probably pansexual, because we are all attracted to different people for inexplicable reasons (yes, I know, science says we’re all attracted to people because of facial symmetry and they remind us of our parents…but for me, my attractions are all completely and totally inexplicable.)  

Short post.  But that’s about it for today.  What are your thoughts on pansexuality?  Do you identify as pansexual?  What does it mean to you/what do you think of my definition? Agree? Disagree?  Let me know & COMMENT!!!

XO ~J 

About Jenah
Dedicated to keeping you informed about everything LGBTQIA

3 Responses to The Alphabet Soup

  1. lbqresearch says:

    Hey Jenah

    Thanks for keeping us all up to date on some of the latest information about the community. I find this definition of Pansexual to be really useful!

    My name is Rischa I’m a lesbian, doing research with our community.

    I am passionate about research because professionals use studies like this one to make decisions about our health care.

    I was hoping that you would want to get involved, especially by spreading the word on FB, Blogs, (real friends) Etc.

    For this study, we are looking for women (trans-community included) 18 years of age or older, who self-identify as lesbian, bisexual, queer, or questioning (LBQ). The purpose of this study is to learn about gender presentation and substance use in LBQ women.

    http://www.lbqresearch.wordpress.com.

    This study had been approved by the St. John’s University IRB. Thank you for your time.

  2. mx. punk says:

    hi! i’m a pansexual, genderqueer trans* person and i got some stuff i want to talk with you about.

    first off, it’s really awesome that you’re trying to raise pansexual visibility a bit! and for the most part, this is a rad little introduction to pansexuality. some parts of this article are a bit problematic, though.

    for instance, when you say that a pansexual may be attracted to a transgender person, it makes me think that YOU think trans* women aren’t women and that trans* men aren’t men (that’s just me, though). really, a bisexual who is attracted to men and women (trans* and cis) can stil be bisexual, right? cuz binary trans* people experience binary gender– just like binary cis people do.

    i also have trouble with this line: “[a pansexual], however, is a person who is attracted to people regardless of their sex.” i have trouble with this partly because it doesn’t apply to ALL pansexuals. lots of pansexuals (including me) experience attraction to non-binary bodies. lots of pansexuals describe pansexuality the way you do– but it isn’t like that for everyone. and i think this particular generalization smacks of binarism by implying that pansexuals are attracted to non-binary bodies IN SPITE of their non-binary-ness, which further marginalizes non-binary bodies. that’s just what i’m getting from it, though; i know you may mean something else entirely.

    i realize that you probably know all this, but i felt like i had to call you on it just in case. i apologize if i ‘m ‘splaining. i honestly think this is basically a good article, but please consider altering it and please lemme know what you think about this. thanks!

  3. Jenah says:

    Whoops I’m just seeing this comment now but thank you very much for posting.
    I’m trying to write out a response without confusing myself, so I’ll try and condense and keep it simple because I often confuse myself when I’m discussing gender-bending issues (don’t get me wrong, I think it’s awesome. I just usually get caught up in the vocab and lose what I’m trying to say)
    In my experience, bisexuality and pansexuality differ because pansexuals (who may or may not adhere to gender binaries) are attracted to people no matter how those others adhere or disregard gender binaries. I also want to say I was not trying to imply that transmen are not men and transwomen are not women; I merely meant that while some people would draw a distinction someone who is pansexual would not. I hope that clarifies a little bit.
    Secondly, thank you for the second issue you raised. The heart of pansexuality as I understand it is that someone who is pansexual does not draw lines as to what sort of a person they are attracted to. That is, pansexual people may be non-binary or binary, and are attracted to people who are non-binary or binary. Again, I hope that clarifies; I was certainly not intending to marginalize non-binary bodies!
    Like I said, I often confuse myself with what I’m trying to say, so I hope this all makes sense.
    XO ~J

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

